Our Lady of Sorrows

Our Lady of Sorrows

September 15 honors Our Lady of Sorrows, also known as:

Mater Dolorosa
Mother of Sorrows
Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows
Our Lady of the Seven Dolours

This devotion recalls seven distressful events in the life of Mary:

The Prophecy of Holy Simeon (Luke 1:34-35)
Escaping to Egypt (Matthew 2:13-15)
Losing Jesus in Jerusalem (Luke 2:41-52)
The Grief of Seeing Jesus Carry His Cross
Jesus Dying on the Cross (John 19:25)
Holding Jesus' Body After His Crucifixion
The Burial of Jesus

Our Lady of Sorrows is often portrayed with seven knives or swords stabbed into her heart to symbolize these events.  This Mary Day comes the day after the feast of the Holy Cross.

Directions for the Our Lady of Sorrows Chaplet